No More Parties

A little while ago I did photos for a birthday party. A 1 year old’s birthday party… and while it wasn’t a very difficult event to shoot, it just didn’t satisfy me photographically.
“I’ve been doing event photos since the early ’00s”
I’ve been doing event photos since the early ’00s and while it was fun back then, and perhaps a means to an end (party money), it doesn’t hold true any longer. These kind of things seem to be an effort for me, and perhaps it has something to do with me easing back on the social scene, but one thing is for sure: If it continues down this path, then I won’t be doing photos at birthday parties (and club events either) for much longer.
The downside to this of course is the loss of social interaction. For years it was how I got to meet new people, and thanks to doing event photos I learned how to interact with people. I became a whore for social interaction. I craved it… It was a great way to network, It still is a great way to network, and not doing events gives you a bit of a knock in that sense. All that means though, is that I need to be more active with marketing and network better (without my camera as a starting point for conversation)
One other downside is that it’s fairly easy money that I’m turning down. Events are a dime a dozen and most want an event photographer. But getting them to pay your your rate is another story… and of course you have to convince them that Thunda and the likes are not enough.
I guess at the end of the day I want the association with me and ‘party photos’ to be tossed. It’s a hard image to lose. I want to be known as ‘THAT’ photographer not for being at all the parties and taking photos of the patrons, but for my photographic skill and vision.
 
Leave a Reply

