It’s Been A While

It’s been 2 years since I went overseas on an eye-opening, 2 month vacation. I was very fortunate to spend some time with my family staying in Hong Kong and in Canada.

Going down the Cable Car

The bulk of the trip was spent in Vancouver as I’d never been before and at the time I was considering making a move there to try to make a new start of things. I got to experience a new culture, a new way of life and for a while I really thought I’d be there permanently…

Life seemed to be easier there, the people friendlier, the air better. There was a bit more to it though, and I’d only realise this when I got back to SA. The reason it seemed so much better over there was because I wasn’t happy with my situation in SA. The day job wasn’t going anywhere (yet I still stuck it out there for the next 22 months… sometimes it’s not so easy to make a move…) and general life concerns kept me from being truly happy.

So I recently took the bold move of leaving the day job to pursue my passion of photography, and I couldn’t be happier. My tumour and the very sudden passing of my cousin just before I was meant to see her while I was overseas are all factors which helped to make this decision a reality.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

Looking back on the trip, I was very fortunate to have met people and experienced situations that helped me experience some of this happiness that had been alluding me.

I sorely miss the Frenchies, my family, the lovely models who I was fortunate enough to have photographed, the beautiful landscape and of course the awesome friends I made there… Thankfully I have photos of all those things and it really brings a smile when I see those pics  🙂

Even as I write this, I have a burning desire to have a game of disc golf with my cousin and his friends. It’s really such a pity that we don’t have something like that in South Africa…

Disc golf in Yyteri. Suomi: Frisbeegolfia Yyte...

Leave a Reply

